displaying the map preview image?

Post here about scripting and programming for HaloPC (audio, network, ai, etc.)
Post Reply
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

displaying the map preview image?

Post by grimdoomer »

Im currently working on a Halo 2, Halo 3 app and I want to display the map preview image some where. The problem is I am having trouble reading the image. I have looked at preys menu menu menu source but he reads things a lot diffrent then i do makeing it very hard to emulate them procedure. I can translate between C3 and VB but im working with VB, I want to realy know everything i possible can about VB befor i go tp C#, then C++. But any way I need some help
Here is what I have so far,

Code: Select all

Public Sub LoadMapImage()

            'We need our Binary Reader
            Dim BR As New BinaryReader(New FileStream(MapLocation, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read, FileShare.Read))

            'Go to the image place and load our pics
            Dim plus As Integer = IIf(MapFilter = 0, 15812, 15820)
            MapSlotSize = IIf(MapFilter = 0, 2896, 3172)
            BR.BaseStream.Position = H2Tag(1).MetaOffset + plus

            Slots = BR.ReadInt32()
            SlotOffset = BR.ReadInt32() - MapSecondaryMagic

        End Sub
After that I am kinda stuck because of how prey loads map info its very diffrent then how my app does and i tryed to change some variables but i ended up with a huge problem with my magics. So any way I need a little help of loading these images.
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
Supermodder911




Connoisseur Coroner

Posts: 1262
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Supermodder911 »

I could help but not VB srry.
Image
C Wizzle
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

Post by grimdoomer »

Well I can read eather two and know what your talking about. If its in C3 Ill just do a quick translation.
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
User avatar
Prey




Connoisseur Snitch! Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Prey »

C3 = C# ?..

Anyway, you can just run the parts of my source that you require through this, then you should have what you need.
Halo 2 Prophet - Skin with ease with the simple 3D point and click interface.
Halo 3 Research Thread - Contribute to the research into Halo 3.
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

Post by grimdoomer »

yea i did helped a lot, I now know my problem Im calculating the magics wrong, once I fix it I should be able to get the map image to load.
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
Post Reply