UHHM - 3/28 - GruntMaps.com is up!

Finish a new model/mesh? Got something you're working on? Finish a new map? Here's the place to post it for feedback and whatnot.
hogdeath18





Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:26 pm

Post by hogdeath18 »

what is the plugin for 3dstudio max again and where do i put it?
How do i open 3ds files also?
Image
"There are those who said this day would never come. What have they to say now?"
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

3ds Max / Gmax to e3d Conversion
This is a very easy process. It requires that you have:
1. 3ds max or gmax (works with both)
2. e3dExporter.ms (new file name, see bottom of post for file)
3. 1 EditableMesh object. Extended requirements:
a. Must only use U and V for textures (no cheating and using the UVW Map)
b. Must have a Multi Submaterial! (don't know why I didn't allow for standard... I wrote it a while back and all)

Now, using it:
First, run the code. Your side bar should jump the MaxScript screen where you should see a rollout. Press the button that says "none" and select your object. Next, press the export button. When you see that the export has completed (the one line listener view should show [m,"\sometexture.bmp"]), open the listener and check that nothing is above [o,"Exported with the UHMM ... etc"]
Now, find the GrabListener.exe (see below for file). Run it.
You will be asked to save the file. Save it as [something].e3d (or whatever other extension you prefer, but the UHMM will only normally accept .e3d files and that is the name I've given to the format)
NOTE:
1. Your textures are relative to your UHMM directory
2. You must save the e3d somewhere within your UHMM Directory.
3. There is an "e3d" directory with folders for different types of models, please stick to this format (BACK UP YOUR MODELS BEFORE INSTALLING A NEW VERSION OF UHMM! You may need to delete the directory for some updates to work)

Textures:
To make sure your textures appear correctly, rotate them 90 degress CLOCKWISE (in MSPaint, just 90 degrees) and save them as 24 Bit Bitmap images. (The same is true for terrain textures, which you can make yourself)
You must also make sure that the [m,"\[directory]\[texture].bmp"] is correct for each material in your model, otherwise UHMM will encounter a run time error (file not found, por ejemplo*)

From the next update on, e3dExporter.ms and GrabListener.exe will be included with the UHMM, but since that is not the case now:


GrabListener.exe: This comes with chimp. It is only truely required with gmax (you can't select all text [really, you can't] in the listener window)
For 3ds max (if you don't have GrabListener), select all the text and place it into notepad, then save it (with "all files" selected) as [whatever].e3d. SAME RULES APPLY!

e3dExporter.ms:

Code: Select all

rollout UHMMExport "e3d Exporter For 3ds max and Gmax" width:142 height:92
(
local object,
	  numTriangles,
	  f, i, a, b, c, d, e, g = 1, h, j, k, mater
	
	pickbutton pick_object "none" pos:[9,8] width:118 height:21
	button expcoorbut "Export Coor." pos:[8,32] width:120 height:17
	button btn3 "Close" pos:[9,52] width:119 height:16
	on pick_object picked obj do
	(
	
	    object = obj; pick_object.text = object.name
		ConvertToMesh object
	)
	on expcoorbut pressed do
	(
		For f in 1 to object.numfaces do
		(		
			i = getface object f
			a = getvert object i.x
			b = getvert object i.y
			c = getvert object i.z
			h = gettvert object i[1]
			j = gettvert object i[2]
			k = gettvert object i[3]
			g = GetFaceMatId object f
			e = "t," + a.x as string + "," + a.y as string + "," + a.z as string + "," + b.x as string + "," + b.y as string + "," + b.z as 

string + "," + c.x as string + "," + c.y as string + "," + c.z as string + "," + h.x as string + "," + h.y as string + "," + j.x as string + "," + j.y 

as string + "," + k.x as string + "," + k.y as string + "," + g as string
			format e
			format "\n"
		)
		format "p,0,0,0\n"
		if ClassOf object.material == MultiMaterial then
		(
			f = 1
			for f in 1 to object.material.count do
			(
				mater = "m," + "\"\\" + object.material[f].name + ".bmp\""
				format mater
				format "\n"
			)
		)
		g = g + 1
	)
	on btn3 pressed do
		removeRollout UHMMExport
)
Addrollout UHMMExport



*"Por Ejemplo" is spanish for "For Example"
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
hogdeath18





Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:26 pm

Post by hogdeath18 »

Very complicated i don't think many people will be able to get it like i did
Image
"There are those who said this day would never come. What have they to say now?"
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

And that's why I'm making the UHMM in the first place!
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
{ST} 117





Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:11 am

Post by {ST} 117 »

w00t! this is really coming along....

from the screenshots, it reminds me of the hammer world editor for the halflife engine.
Image
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

Post by nsilva »

GREAT WORK so far bacon
hogdeath18 wrote:Woah major ls bug, runtime error
Omg! Avy steal. I was first to have that one, then bacon switched, (I made whish bacon was a mod but he did it over cause mine had bugzszs), now you.

No one else better do this, or they are just posers!
Sig file size too high.
hogdeath18





Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:26 pm

Post by hogdeath18 »

check out the offical site
Image
Last edited by hogdeath18 on Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
"There are those who said this day would never come. What have they to say now?"
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

Post by nsilva »

hogdeath18 wrote:check out the offical site
Image
You mean UHMMCE.tk right?

Your avy is gonne get deleted.
Sig file size too high.
hogdeath18





Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:26 pm

Post by hogdeath18 »

Omg i just uploaded the wrong pic on 3 sites!
Image
"There are those who said this day would never come. What have they to say now?"
Kurroda





Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:01 am
Contact:

Post by Kurroda »

.tk sucks use .co.nr no popups
Image
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

or, we can make a single page on freewebs that has a speciall redeirect (not a standard one) that leads to the forum. That way, the link works, but it's a true redirect, not a cover-up.
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
hogdeath18





Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:26 pm

Post by hogdeath18 »

Ours has no popups either
Image
"There are those who said this day would never come. What have they to say now?"
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

Post by nsilva »

hogdeath18 wrote:Ours has no popups either
Who gives. Pay for your own bleepin domains.
Sig file size too high.
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

Unfortunately, we're all under 18 (I think...) and we don't have credit cards or mailing addresses (why ould you send a bill to your house when your a minor?) and we don't have checking accounts. Now I'de love to get a .com domain for 3 bucks a year from yahoo, but I have no way to pay for that.
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

Post by nsilva »

Alright you got me bacon.

Ill get you a domain, and a site. Just name the domain. And do you want .net, com, org, tv, biz, what?
Sig file size too high.
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

Wow...
Let me see what's available *is amazed by your generousity* (sp?)

Hmm.. Well, UHMM.com isn't looking good.. IT appears to be owned by a registration site...
The one domain I've always wanted is GruntMaps.com, which I can still dedicate to the UHMM... If you find this to be ok, then that's what I want, if not, UHMM.net or org or something.


once again, thank you very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very much.
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

Post by nsilva »

Right on it. Though you wont have access to the site files. I will, but i can edit them for you.

I am doing this off my own server and my own money, so at any time i will be able to take down materials to save bandwith. And i refuse to let any content i dont like be on my server. So im letting you know i have complete administration to the site. And i will set you up an account on the site as admin. Enter a pasword you dont normally use. Just incase.
Sig file size too high.
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

That's fine, all I really need is a phpBB forum (and you can give me admin rights to that [the forum itself] so that's fine)
For files, it would be the standard phpBB stuff plus a theme/style called Aeolus and my GruntMaps title image...

*fixes GruntMaps title images*
Made a new one:
Image
It has "hosted by nsilvia" on it.
Oh, and everyone asked why it was GruntMaps, while now I have a reason! Once the UHMM is released, mid-level maps will flow out by the boatloads! "Grunt" is defined as "an unskilled or low-ranking soldier or other worker" (in one definition, and the Wikipedia page appeared on define:grunt on google, too, but any idiot who plays Halo know wtf a grunt is to halo), unskilled or low ranking, sounds like the people who really need the UHMM... *no offence to those people*

Better yet, how about phpNuke? That's what the original GruntMaps was...
http://www.trushkin.com/phpnuke.php
First style on that page is Aeolus, the one I want (that's the style the orignal gruntmaps used)
If you find one that is better suited, just let me know, and of course, you can add it, I just want Aeolus to be the default or an option.

oh, and here is the link to the newest phpNuke, just to make it easier:
http://phpnuke.org/modules.php?name=Dow ... ls&lid=528


Ok, to review:
site: phpNuke
domain: gruntmaps.com
style: Aeolus
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
nsilva





Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:15 pm
Location: RI
Contact:

~

Post by nsilva »

Uhh. You put silvia not silva!!!!

And they declined, thoose whores. Im emailing them about this. And ill get back to you.
Sig file size too high.
User avatar
FleetAdmiralBacon




Critic Pyre Articulatist 500

Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by FleetAdmiralBacon »

haha, stupid spelling errors!
fixed it, *refresh*

oh, and new avatar!


To get back onto the topic of the UHMM itself:

I'll be moving the production to my notebook, once I reinstall Windows XP (it was part of a network and the password I was given to the Admin account doesn't work... So I'm gonna reinstall XP Pro and hopefully office and then install the stuff on my loooong list of programs, most importantly: VB6)
Image
Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
Post Reply