Programming: Loading Halo2 Maps In VB

Post here about scripting and programming for HaloPC (audio, network, ai, etc.)
modder4321





Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:35 pm

Post by modder4321 »

superaison wrote:um, is this vb6 or vb 2005? if its vb6 then i need help
its vb6...
superaison





Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:06 pm

Post by superaison »

nvm got it to load tags and everything now and dependecies, next is editing the stuff.
modder4321





Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:35 pm

Post by modder4321 »

superaison wrote:nvm got it to load tags and everything now and dependecies, next is editing the stuff.
id like to let u know unless u convert to vb.net like i did. its going to be slow as hell when editing stuff. and resigning takes like 40 mins in vb6
Klaz0r





Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:36 pm

Post by Klaz0r »

Good tutorial, but what if we just wanted to load a singular tag? Like say, just bipd?
xxANTMANxx





Posts: 108
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 8:21 pm
Contact:

Post by xxANTMANxx »

then just change the loop so it loops till it finds it
Zenaku213





Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 12:09 pm
Location: In your walls.

Post by Zenaku213 »

could this code be used for VB.net 2003 also???11??1
CLuis wrote:Being goth is a disease.
All those losers in gym must have it then.
xxANTMANxx





Posts: 108
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 8:21 pm
Contact:

Post by xxANTMANxx »

yes but alot of converting and its not very good

you could probably make your own to do the same thing but better
jamesr66a




Miner

Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:17 am

Post by jamesr66a »

You Don't need to convert anything. You just need to decare variables and your good to go!
HaloKiller





Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 2:35 am
Location: Hmmmmmm... That's a toughie... What is "AT MY COMPUTER"?
Contact:

Post by HaloKiller »

i know this topic is a few months old, but could someone please tell me how to get the actual tag names? like vehicle/warthog (you get the point)
VoYdE





Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:39 pm
Location: On Vacation From The Loads Of Bull*hit That Goes On Here
Contact:

Post by VoYdE »

Im confused....
Lets Say i wanted a "Open map" Button, But So You Can Choose The Location of The Map. How would i do that?

Also Where Do I Put All This Code?
Im Confused.........
Image
I made this 100% by myself, Everything from the background, to the location of the tags, Get yours http://customgamercards.com
HaloKiller





Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 2:35 am
Location: Hmmmmmm... That's a toughie... What is "AT MY COMPUTER"?
Contact:

Post by HaloKiller »

go to planet source code (http://www.planet-source-code.com/vb/) and search for common dialog
VoYdE





Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:39 pm
Location: On Vacation From The Loads Of Bull*hit That Goes On Here
Contact:

Post by VoYdE »

i know how to get a command diaglog in but not so the code works correctly with it
Image
I made this 100% by myself, Everything from the background, to the location of the tags, Get yours http://customgamercards.com
Kurroda





Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:01 am
Contact:

Post by Kurroda »

so you decided to start off with vb and not c++??
Image
VoYdE





Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:39 pm
Location: On Vacation From The Loads Of Bull*hit That Goes On Here
Contact:

Post by VoYdE »

I Know A Lot Of People Use Visual Basic 2005 (Express Edition)
I Converted The Codes From VB6 To The Newer Version
( I Have Only Finished The First Little Bit So I Will Edit The More I Find Out)

Code: Select all

Dim ByteArray() As Byte
            Dim FileName As String
            Dim SizeOfFile As Integer
            Fno = FreeFile()
            FileOpen(Fno, "C:\Zanzibar.map", OpenMode.Binary)
            SizeOfFile = LOF(Fno)
            ReDim ByteArray(SizeOfFile - 1)
            FileGet(Fno, ByteArray)
            FileClose(Fno)
I Think Its Correct
Image
I made this 100% by myself, Everything from the background, to the location of the tags, Get yours http://customgamercards.com
Spartan025





Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:45 pm
Location: Learning C++

Post by Spartan025 »

The Fno doesnt work because it says it needs to be declared
you could try

Code: Select all

Dim Fno
i think it should work
User avatar
dos mes





Posts: 2158
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY

Post by dos mes »

Please don't bump old topics, although I'm not sure it even really matters or applies in this section. But, there are wayy better tutorials for VB.Net, newer ones, I'd check out anthonys tuts if you want to load a map. Again, this was originally for VB6 so search around for the newer tuts.
Post Reply