It's a 79.9 meg limit... and I guess you could say there has been...latinomodder wrote:xbox7887 has any research been done in making bigger bsps in a map, or execding the 70 megs limit? Just wanted to know.
Yelo: Halo 2 (Xbox)
-
- Posts: 565
- Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:41 am
- Location: Vancouver, BC This is where people put their modding team because they feel important.
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
One Theory:latinomodder wrote:has there been?latinomodder wrote:xbox7887 has any research been done in making bigger bsps in a map, or execding the 70 megs limit? Just wanted to know.
http://www.haloplugins.com/forums/index ... wtopic=417
Awaiting connection...
There is a WIP in the Picture section that xheadshotmastax posted. It was about him breaking the BSP size limit. http://files.halomods.com/viewtopic.php?t=58145
-
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:07 pm
- Location: MIA 305!!
Meh, did a quick followup on mapsizes...
You can see that 0x140 in the map header indicates a maps type...in coag it's 0100 which indicates a max size of 80MB. Try changing the value at 0x140 to 0400 which 'should' increase the max size to 520MB 
Code: Select all
.text:001228A3 mov ax, [esi+140h] ; gets maptype
.text:001228AA test ax, ax ; checks maptype
.text:001228AD jl short fail_to_load
.text:001228AF cmp ax, 5 ; checks for any other value
.text:001228B3 jge short fail_to_load
.text:001228B5 movsx ecx, ax
.text:001228B8 call get_map_type_size ; switch case to set maximum map size
.text:001228BD cmp edx, eax ; checks mapsize
.text:001228BF jg short fail_to_load
Code: Select all
.text:00214ED0 get_map_type_size proc near ; CODE XREF: sub_122870+48p
.text:00214ED0 xor eax, eax
.text:00214ED2 cmp ecx, 4 ; switch 5 cases
.text:00214ED5 ja short locret_214EF5 ; default
.text:00214ED7 jmp ds:off_214EF8[ecx*4] ; switch jump
.text:00214EDE
.text:00214EDE loc_214EDE: ; DATA XREF: .text:off_214EF8o
.text:00214EDE mov eax, 5000000h ; limit mapsize to 80MB
.text:00214EE3 retn
.text:00214EE4 ; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
.text:00214EE4
.text:00214EE4 loc_214EE4: ; CODE XREF: get_map_type_size+7j
.text:00214EE4 ; DATA XREF: .text:off_214EF8o
.text:00214EE4 mov eax, 11800000h ; limit mapsize to 280MB
.text:00214EE9 retn
.text:00214EEA ; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
.text:00214EEA
.text:00214EEA loc_214EEA: ; CODE XREF: get_map_type_size+7j
.text:00214EEA ; DATA XREF: .text:off_214EF8o
.text:00214EEA mov eax, 0B400000h ; limit mapsize to 180MB
.text:00214EEF retn
.text:00214EF0 ; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
.text:00214EF0
.text:00214EF0 loc_214EF0: ; CODE XREF: get_map_type_size+7j
.text:00214EF0 ; DATA XREF: .text:off_214EF8o
.text:00214EF0 mov eax, 20800000h ; limit mapsize to 520MB
.text:00214EF5
.text:00214EF5 locret_214EF5: ; CODE XREF: get_map_type_size+5j
.text:00214EF5 retn ; default
.text:00214EF5 get_map_type_size endp

- latinomodder
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:51 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
-
- Posts: 2032
- Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 6:34 pm
- Location: T E X A S
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
- StalkingGrunt911
- Posts: 3618
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 12:30 pm
- Location: Florida!
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
What do you all think about a small xbe patch which would enable the execution of code embedded in your map files...would it be more or less demanding than a trainer? I'm thinking specifically about enabling ai in mp through the maps themselves but until I can find a buffer overflow exploit in the mapcode, it will require a patched xbe to function.
Sounds like a plan! DO IT! I am sure lots of people here would appreciate a patch like this.xbox7887 wrote:What do you all think about a small xbe patch which would enable the execution of code embedded in your map files...would it be more or less demanding than a trainer? I'm thinking specifically about enabling ai in mp through the maps themselves but until I can find a buffer overflow exploit in the mapcode, it will require a patched xbe to function.

- LuxuriousMeat
- Posts: 824
- Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:43 pm
- Location: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
- Contact:
- LuxuriousMeat
- Posts: 824
- Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:43 pm
- Location: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
- Contact: