Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
- Rogue_Modder
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:46 am
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
yes, but if the app doesn't work then this helps.
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
could this app be modified to extract screenshots from other games? I know of a few games that allow you to take screenshots but they are only viewable on the 360 either dash or in that proprietary game...
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
I've been trying to ask for help making an app that owuld allow me to extract screens from games like Gears of War 2, and I would incorporate the ability to extract screens from this game, too. There are other games I'd like to be able to get, like Oblivion, that game saves a screenshot when you save your game. No one wants to help me though.
- Rogue_Modder
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:46 am
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
GoW 2 is the same way as h3...
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
It's slightly different, but only VERY slightly. Sometimes the offset for Halo 3 screenshots start at D000 and sometimes at E000, GoW2 ones always start at E000, AFAIK.
And it's not about just getting the screenshots, like I said in my thread, I could do that myself with a hex editor. I want to learn a little bit of programming. I downloaded and installed Visual Studio 2008 so I could start getting my hands wet with this sort of thing, but I'm stuck after opening the file, I don't know how to read it as hex.
And it's not about just getting the screenshots, like I said in my thread, I could do that myself with a hex editor. I want to learn a little bit of programming. I downloaded and installed Visual Studio 2008 so I could start getting my hands wet with this sort of thing, but I'm stuck after opening the file, I don't know how to read it as hex.
- Rogue_Modder
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:46 am
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
just ask some people on this site. They will know easy.
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
In C#HaLo2FrEeEk wrote:It's slightly different, but only VERY slightly. Sometimes the offset for Halo 3 screenshots start at D000 and sometimes at E000, GoW2 ones always start at E000, AFAIK.
And it's not about just getting the screenshots, like I said in my thread, I could do that myself with a hex editor. I want to learn a little bit of programming. I downloaded and installed Visual Studio 2008 so I could start getting my hands wet with this sort of thing, but I'm stuck after opening the file, I don't know how to read it as hex.
Code: Select all
OpenFileDialog ofd = new OpenFileDialog();
if (ofd.ShowDialog() == DialogResult.OK)
{
//setup reader
FileStream fs = new FileStream(FileName, FileMode.Open);
BinaryReader br = new BinaryReader(fs);
//example read
br.BaseStream.Position = 100;
byte[] example = br.ReadBytes(800);
}
- Rogue_Modder
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:46 am
- Location: London
- Contact:
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
in vb.net:
Code: Select all
Dim ofd As New OpenFileDialog()
If ofd.ShowDialog() = DialogResult.OK Then
'setup reader
Dim fs As New FileStream(FileName, FileMode.Open)
Dim br As New BinaryReader(fs)
'example read
br.BaseStream.Position = 100
Dim example As Byte() = br.ReadBytes(800)
End If
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Thank you, both of you, I'll start with that and mess around with it to see what I can get.
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Ok, here's the code I have so far:
The problem is that when I run it and press the open button a little alert shows up telling me "InvalidCastException was unhandled" at the do until len(results) line. What I want to do is read from offset E000 to the end of the file. I've tried EOF and it doesn't seem to work either. I'm stuck here.
And when I get this to work, how will I access the example variable in another sub to save the file? I have 2 buttons, one for opening and one for saving. How do I go and tell it to save example as a file?
Code: Select all
Imports System.IO
Public Class Form1
Private Sub OpenButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles OpenButton.Click
Dim filereader As Stream = File.Open("R:\Gears Screenshots\00000001\shot_0000000A000F000B002402560F36B537", FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read)
Dim results As New BinaryReader(filereader)
results.BaseStream.Position = &HE000
Dim example As Byte
Do Until Len(results)
example &= results.ReadByte
Loop
End Sub
End Class
And when I get this to work, how will I access the example variable in another sub to save the file? I have 2 buttons, one for opening and one for saving. How do I go and tell it to save example as a file?
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Wow.
I had no idea this topic was called, "teach me how to program"
I had no idea this topic was called, "teach me how to program"
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Well no one is responding in my topic asking for help, and I was just replying to people's help posted here.
- LuxuriousMeat
- Posts: 824
- Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:43 pm
- Location: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
- Contact:
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Code: Select all
Imports System.IO
Public Class Form1
Private Sub OpenButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles OpenButton.Click
Dim filereader As Stream = File.Open("R:\Gears Screenshots\00000001\shot_0000000A000F000B002402560F36B537", FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read)
Dim results As New BinaryReader(filereader)
results.BaseStream.Position = &HE000
Dim data As Byte() = results.ReadBytes(results.BaseStream.Length - results.BaseStream.Position)
End Sub
End Class
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Tried it on vista 64 and 32 bit. Didn't work. Tried it on XP 32 bit and it works.
- HaLo2FrEeEk
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:25 pm
Re: Halo 3 Screenshot Tool
Maybe I'll try it on my Fiancee's computer, mine has Vista Ultimate x64 and even when I have the HDD plugged in through USB (the MS harddrive transfer kit) it still gives me an error when I try to run it. I'll try it on hers though...